Beginning July 27, through the end of 2022, the Towns Municipal Parking Lot on Magnolia Street will be closed for a drainage and bulkhead project. Alternate parking is available on Front Street. More Info

Planning and Zoning Commission

Established in accordance with Title 22, Chapter 7 of the Delaware Code, Section 15 of the Charter of the Town of Milton and Chapters 30 and 220 of the Town of Milton Municipal Code.

The Planning and Zoning Commission consists of not less than five, nor more than nine, members. Members are appointed by the Mayor and subject to confirmation by a majority of the elected members of Council. The Mayor and Council Secretary are ex-officio members. An ex-officio member of the Commission may exercise all of the powers of the regular members, but may not hold an office on the Commission. Members must be legally registered voters and have their legal primary residence in the Town of Milton.

The current members and terms of the Planning and Zoning Commission are as follows:

  • Richard Trask, Chair – Term Expires April 2023
  • Lynn Ekelund – Term Expires April 2025
  • Donald Mazzeo – Term Expires April 2025
  • Jeffrey Seemans – Term Expires April 2025
  • Maurice McGrath, Secretary – Term Expires April 2024
  • George Cardwell – Term Expires April 2024
  • Andrew Gogates – Term Expires April 2023

The Planning and Zoning Commission is charged with the responsibility of preparing a Comprehensive Plan for submission to the State of Delaware Office of State Planning Coordination. The Comprehensive Plan is a document containing text, maps and a description of the Town of Milton’s development strategy. It serves as the basis for the town’s zoning regulations. The plan must be reviewed and updated at least every five years.

This Commission is the authority for several applications under the Zoning Ordinance (Section 220 of the Municipal Code). Site Plan Review and Approval are the responsibility of the Planning and Zoning Commission. The Planning and Zoning Commission is also authorized to approve special uses. Projects with minor impact may be approved through Administrative Review by the Project Coordinator. Appeals are made to the Board of Adjustments.

Meetings of the Planning and Zoning Commission are scheduled on the third Tuesday of each month at 6:30pm and are open to the public. Meeting notices are posted on the town web site and the bulletin board at 101 Federal Street. For more information, contact Town Hall.